Governor Sets April 24, 2018 as Date for Special Elections

Due to a number of resignations, there are 9 open seats in the New York State Assembly and 2 open seats in the New York State Senate. Thus, there are new opportunities for political advertising. There are general elections in which the winning candidate will fill out the term of those who have resigned.

Under FCC rules state candidates may not demand access. However, once you provide access to one candidate, you must provide access to all other candidates for that office. All the FCC rules then apply, including the lowest unit rate rules. The lowest unit rate period for these special elections begins on February 23rd.

Here are the districts that will be holding special elections. The location of the district by county is indicated.

5th Assembly District (Part of Suffolk) (Assemblyman Alfred Graf resigned)
10th Assembly District (Part of Suffolk) (Assemblyman Chad Lupinacci resigned)
17th Assembly District (Part of Nassau); (Assemblyman Thomas McKevitt resigned)
39th Assembly District) (Part of Queens) (Assemblyman Francisco Moya resigned)
74th Assembly District (Part of New York); (Assemblyman Brian Kavanagh resigned)
80th Assembly District (Part of Bronx) (Assemblyman Mark Gjonaj resigned)
102nd Assembly District (Greene/Schoharie, Part of Albany/Columbia/Delaware/Otsego/Ulster) (Assemblyman Peter Lopez resigned)
107th Assembly District (Part of Columbia/Rensselaer/Washington) (Assemblyman Steven McLaughlin resigned)
142nd Assembly District (Part of Erie); (Assemblyman Michael Kearns resigned)

32nd Senate District (Part of Bronx) (Senator Ruben Diaz resigned)
37th Senate District (Part of Westchester) (Senator George Latimar resigned)

For more information on the candidates for these elections, go to the New York State Board of Elections website HERE.