2015 Hall of Fame Inductees

We are proud to announce the inductees for the New York State Broadcasters Hall of Fame for 2015. The Class of 2015 will be inducted at our Hall of Fame Luncheon on June 23, 2015 at the Conrad Hotel.

Roker2Al Roker: He is known as America’s most trusted weatherman and has been the weather and feature anchor on NBC’s “Today” since January 1996. Since July 2009, he has been co-host of the morning show “Wake Up with Al” on the Weather Channel. Until January of 2000, Roker also served as the weekday weather forecaster for News Channel 4’s early evening newscast “Live at 5” on WNBC-TV, NBC’s flagship owned and operated station in New York City.

Throughout the years, Roker has reported live for “Today” from some of history’s worst storms and natural disasters. In 1994, he founded Al Roker Entertainment (ARE), a leading producer of original, award winning TV programs and digital content for the world’s best brands.

New York magazine has twice named Roker “Best Weatherman.” He is a recipient of the American Meteorological Society’s prestigious Seal of Approval and has been a pioneer in the use of computer graphics for weathercasting. In 2010, Roker was awarded a Daytime Emmy award as part of “Today” recognition as the best morning newscast.

Roker began his broadcasting career while still in college by landing a job as a weekend weatherman WTVH-TV in Syracuse, NY.

Ausfeld3Robert Ausfeld
: Bob was a radio icon in the Capital Region for more than four decades, beginning with his first job at WPTR 1540 when he was 23 years old. Ausfeld led several area radio stations over the years, including the former “K-Lite,” WKLI 100.9 FM; rock station WPYX 106.5 FM; better known as PYX 106; and country powerhouse WGNA 107.7 FM. At the time of his passing, he was general manager at Albany Broadcasting, based in Latham, NY. Bob was an industry leader and served as Chairman of the Board of the New York State Broadcasters Association.

Palvino2John Palvino: Jack is one of Rochester’s best-known media figures with a legendary 40-year career in broadcasting. He was one of the area’s dominant radio personalities from 1958-1978. In 1978, he formed the Lincoln Group and purchased WVOR radio. The group grew to include WHAM, WHTK, WPXY, & WHRR in Rochester; WBUF in Buffalo; and WQKX and WSOM in Youngstown, Ohio. Jack is a fomer president of The Rochester Radio Broadcasters Association.

Parker3Bill Parker: Bill is Binghamton’s beloved “Dean of Broadcasting.” He came to Binghamton in 1948 to work at WNBF radio, and in 1949 he was part of the new Channel 12 WNBF-TV. From the 1950s-70s he hosted children’s TV shows, such as the “TV Ranch Club,” “Captain Galaxy,” and “Officer Bill.” He continued with radio and retired from WNBF in September 2010.

CP7Cathy Pircsuk: A native of the “North Country,” Cathy started her career in Atlanta after receiving her degree from the University of Missouri. She started in the news department as a reporter at WWNY-TV/WNYF-TV in 1979. She worked her way to the top serving as a news anchor, assignment editor, and news director. She became station manager in 1996. Her 36 year career covers almost two thirds of the stations history. Cathy is a shining example of a local broadcaster, serving on numerous committees throughout the Watertown area.

Warfield5Charles M. Warfield, Jr.: Charles is a 38 year broadcast veteran, is Sr. Advisor to YMF Media LLC. In his broadcasting career, Charles has managed some of America’s most successful and recognized radio stations, including 12 years at Inner City Broadcasting Corporation as Vice President and General Manager of WBLS-FM and WLIB-AM. He also served as Vice President/General Manager of WRKS-FM, New York, which during his tenure was “the most listened to station in America”. He is presently Joint Board Chair of the National Association of Broadcasters (NAB) Board of Directors and served as Past-Chair of the Radio Executive Committee of the NAB. Charles is also a member of the NAB Educational Foundation board and the NAB Investment Committee. The NAB honored him with the 2010 National Radio Award. In 2009, he was recognized by Radio Ink magazine as Radio Executive of the Year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *