NYSBA Summer Conference A Tremendous Success

Our first conference in New York City was a tremendous success. On Thursday evening June 12th, we presented 65 Excellence in Broadcasting Awards to stations from across the Empire State. A list of award winners can found HERE.

FJFaith Jenkins, who has a new daytime court show, “Judge Faith”, beginning in September, was the emcee for the evening, and presented awards to the winners.


SSOur 2014 “New Yorker of the Year”, Senator Charles Schumer, praised broadcasters for their local service. In his remarks he noted that JSAs serve an important public interest role in New York State. The Senator promised to continue his efforts to combat “pirate radio” and make sure television stations do not lose coverage areas as a result of the TV incentive auctions.

Our 2014 “Broadcaster of the Year”, Norah O’Donnell, recounted her career as a print and television journalist. She expressed her deep appreciation for the opportunities broadcasting has provided. Norah congratulated all the “Excellence in Broadcasting” winners. Charlie Rose came by to congratulate her.


KMThe evening was capped with a tremendous performance by two-time Grammy Award winner Kacey Musgraves. She sang a number of songs off her Grammy winning album, “Same Trailer Differnt Park”, as well as her new hit single “Follow Your Arrow.”

Our Friday sessions were entertaining and informative. A panel of Washington experts described the current political environment in Washington.



rushNoted media theorist Douglas Rushkoff, provided an entertaining and thought provoking discussion on reaching “millennials.”  Our break-out sessions for television, radio and engineering were informative and well attended.

LSOur Hall of Fame luncheon was filled to capacity as Galaxy Communications CEO, Ed Levine, inducted six new members into our Hall of Fame: John Cooper, Nancy Duffy, Mike Francesa, Marty Glickman, Chris Musial, and Marvin Scott.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *