Class of 2012 – Hall of Fame Inductees

The New York State Broadcasters Association’s Hall of Fame has been created to salute broadcast leadership throughout New York State. It recognizes individuals who have made a significant contribution in the fields of radio and television broadcasting. For additional information, contact our Hall of Fame website.

Six new members were inducted into the Hall of Fame on November 28th at ceremony held at the Paley Center for Media Studies in New York City.  The room overflow event began with a cocktail reception in the foyer outside the Steven Spielberg room.  Leaders in broadcasting from New York City and across the state got a chance to network and renew old friendships.

[galleryview id=30]

The ceremony began with NYBSA President David Donovan thanking the inductees for their contributions and introducing the emcee for the evening, Galaxy Communications CEO, Ed Levine.

Ed thanked all the inductees for their service and then introduced the
Class of 2012.


Len Berman is an Emmy-Award winning Sportscaster and New York Times Best Selling Author who has covered just about every major sports event including multiple Super Bowls, World Series and Olympics during his 40-year career in broadcasting.


Retiring this year after 42 years of service, WHEC’s Rich Funke’s legendary career encompassed both news and sports. Rich is a four time winner of the Rochester Press-Radio Club’s Sportscaster of the Year award, and has been honored five times by the New York State Broadcasters Association. Always giving of his time he has hosted numerous telethons and served on the boards of several local charities. 


New York Radio’s “First Lady” has been a legendary personality on WOR-710 AM since the early 1970s. Regular listeners have referred to her as “The Yellow Pages of the World.” With her daughter, Liz, Joan is part of the first mother-daughter radio team in the country.


After 34 years of bringing the news to Central New Yorkers, Jackie Robinson announced that she has decided to step down from her position as anchor for WSTM-TV and CNY Central.  She was promoted to weekend anchor, making her the first African-American female anchor at WSTM. Robinson received numerous awards and accolades, including Syracuse University Chancellor’s Award for Outstanding Journalist, 2011 Syracuse University Woman of Distinction, the Governor’s Award for Outstanding African-Americans of Distinction and named a 1990 Syracuse Post-Standard Woman of Achievement. She has also been honored with the Syracuse Press Club’s Career Achievement Award and been added to the organization’s Wall of Distinction. She has been recognized numerous times by the Associated Press, United Press International, and Syracuse Press Club. Robinson holds an honorary doctorate from Cazenovia College.


For the past 21 years, Scott Shannon has co-hosted the longest continuous running radio show in New York City, Scott & Todd In the Morning.  Scott has been honored with many industry awards including Billboard Magazine’s “Air Personality of the Year” five times and Billboard’s “Program Director of the Year” six times. He is also in the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame in Cleveland, the NAB Broadcasting Hall of Fame in Washington, D.C., and the National Radio Hall of Fame in Chicago.



One of television’s most admired journalists, Mike became a full-time correspondent with CBS in the 1960s and co-editor of 60 Minutes in 1968. Mike won 21 Emmy Awards throughout his career. He was driven by an intense desire to deliver the truth to his audience.  “His extraordinary contribution as a broadcaster is immeasurable and he has been a force within the television industry throughout its existence”.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *