NYS Broadcasters 50th Executive Conference

Hot sounds on a cool lake!!  Radio and Television stations from across New York State enjoyed the 50th Annual Summer Conference at the Sagamore Resort Hotel on beautiful Lake George on June 18-19, 2012.  Attendance was solid as station executives enjoyed the two day event, which included the gala Tony Malara Awards Dinner, top notch panels from industry experts, golf and the annual lobster dinner on Tuesday evening. 

In a room filled to capacity, more than 50 radio and television stations from across the state received awards for Excellence in Broadcasting.  In addition, three radio and three television stations received the new NYSBA Community Engagement Award for their work with local community groups.

The dinner began with a special thank you Major  General Patrick  Murphy, Adjutant General for the state of New York.  He thanked broadcasters for supporting the New York Army National Guard, and described the sacrifices of those who have served in Iraq and Afghanistan as well as helping New Yorkers during disasters such as Tropical Storm Irene.

A special video greeting was provided by the Honorable Chuck Schumer, who was unable to attend because the Senate was in session.  He congratulated the winners and thanked radio and television broadcasters for all their work in providing news and information to their communities, especially during emergencies.

NYSBA honored three industry veterans at the annual Tony Malara Awards Dinner on Monday evening.

Bill Weir – 2012 Broadcaster of the Year

Conference chairman, Mr. Dave Davis President and General Manager of WABC-TV New York, introduced ABC Nightline’s Co-Anchor Bill Weir as our 2012 Broadcaster of the Year Award.  He outlined Mr. Weir’s experiences as a local news reporter and told the packed audience, that Bill was “one of us.”

Bill recounted his career which startied in the Austin MN, Market 175. He described a number of his experiences including dodging bullets in Afghanistan, jumping out of hot air balloons, covering the rescue of the Chilean miners and broadcasting the recent tightrope walk over Niagara Falls.  Most importantly, he noted the important role local stations play in serving their communities.

Rachael Ray – 2012 New York of the Year

The NYSBA 2012 New Yorker of the Year – Ms. Rachael Ray – was introduced by Steve Baboulis, VP and General Manager of WNYT-TV Albany. 

He outlined the numerous  achievements of this Emmy Award winning television host, who has risen to the top of her profession.

In a heart felt and touching speech, Rachael discussed  growing up in upstate New York.  She recognized the importance of her family in achieving her success.  Rachael recounted her experiences working at the Sagamore. She noted the beginnings of her career on WRGB TV Channel 6 in Albany.

Peggy Green – 2012 Carol Reilly Award Recipient

Ms. Peggy Green received the prestigious Carol Reilly Award for her outstanding career in advertising.  NYSBA Chairman David Feinblatt highlighted Peggy’s successful career, which includes induction into the Broadcasting and Cable Hall of Fame.

He recognized her commitment to local broadcasting and paving the way for other women to follow in her footsteps.

Peggy’s remarks reached out to everyone in the room.  Starting as a French teacher on Long Island, she rose through the ranks of the advertising business.  Despite here tremendous success, she never lost touch local broadcasters.  According to Peggy, “local TV is where it’s at.”

New York Giants – 2012 Sports Story of the Year

Former NY Giants tight-end Derek Brown represented the New York Giants and received the New York Sports Story of the Year Award.   “Once a Giant always a Giant,” noted Derek.  He provided highlights of last year’s season including the second Super Bowl victory over the dreaded New England Patriots.

 Monday Evening reception……

[galleryview id=29]

 And Tuesday Night fun……

[galleryview id=1]






Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *